Do You Have to Sell Your Secrets to Make Money?

I found out that you can be a writer and preserve your self-respect.

HF Sylaj
6 min readSep 21, 2023

--

Photo by Christina Langford-Miller on Unsplash

TikTok and other social media sites would have everyone believing that you have to post your secrets, your soul, to get a following and make money on the internet. Videos abound of people sharing their mental illnesses, private lives, and even sexual secrets in an attempt to become an “influencer”, get social credit, and make money.

Being a voyeur of other people’s pain is a common pastime these days. Things that no one would speak to their closest friend are now the subject of viral videos.

I can’t deny that I watch this stuff, too. It is compelling. But at what cost to the creator and the viewer?

It also seems to be a compelling method for writing articles here on Medium. Certain mega-popular creators have made their living off of sharing their embarrassing secrets.

I am not judging them. We all have to choose our own path in life and there is room enough for everyone. The only problem (which was admittedly mine) is thinking that it is the only way to make a living online as a content creator or writer.

Recently I found a writer here on Medium who dispelled this myth for me. She showed me that I can still be a writer and…

--

--

HF Sylaj

American immigrant in Kosovo 🇽🇰 Creator, Traveler, and Chicken Mum. ❤ I am a writer, not an expert.