New Writers: This is YOUR Time!

HF Sylaj
3 min readSep 21, 2023

The new Medium algorithm is favoring us.

Photo by Veri Ivanova on Unsplash

Recently I have seen so many seasoned writers here on Medium complain that their earnings have tanked since the algorithm was changed on August 1. It is not a new thing. I have written about it. Every time things change, people complain.

But this time, I suspect things are different.

This time, new writers seem to be taking over and making money. And I think that is wonderful.

I first joined Medium in 2019. I started writing and within a few months, I was making over $300 in a month. But then I became very ill and had to stop writing. Due to different life circumstances, I didn’t publish regularly on Medium for a few years though I remained a regular reader and kept abreast of any changes. In August of this year, I was finally in a place to pick up my career again and I am blown away.

In one month, I went from making just under $12 to now I am at $591.30 for September as of today (the 21st). And the month isn’t even over yet.

A screenshot showing the last few months of earnings on Medium for the author. Shown is May at $2.45. June $2.90. July $3.76. August $11.54. September up to the 21st is $591.30.
Here are the last few months of my earnings. I have always made a couple of bucks a month on my back catalog. Then I started publishing consistently on August 20. Things certainly have gone up since then! Screenshot by HF Sylaj, Sept 2023.

I don’t believe that I am an extraordinary writer. Not at all. I am slow. Most articles take me days to think about, research…

--

--

HF Sylaj

American immigrant in Kosovo 🇽🇰 Creator, Traveler, and Chicken Mum. ❤ I am a writer, not an expert.